Who Watches the Watchers - Forum for the Official Handbook of the Marvel Universe & Similar Works 20 YEARS! 2004-2024

You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

8/04/2024 8:54 am  #1

Purple People Eater

Aliases: Purple People Eater
Identity: Public
Citizenship: Intergalactic
Place of Birth: Unknown Planet
Known Relatives: None
Group Affiliation: None
Education: Self-taught musician
First Appearance: "Purple People Eater" (Song, 1958) by Sheb Wooley
History: The Purple People Eater is a whimsical and iconic character from the 1958 novelty song by Sheb Wooley. According to the lyrics, this bizarre creature descends from outer space with a unique mission: to play rock and roll music.Described as a one-eyed, one-horned flying purple being, the Purple People Eater quickly became a sensation. While its name suggests a penchant for consuming people, the song humorously clarifies that the creature is more interested in music than mischief.The Purple People Eater's arrival on Earth was met with curiosity and delight rather than fear. It quickly formed a band and captivated audiences with its musical talent, playing a saxophone with its horn. Its unexpected appearance and musical abilities made it an instant hit, earning it a place in pop culture history.The Purple People Eater's legacy endures as a beloved novelty character, inspiring various adaptations in film, television, and children's literature. Its playful and non-threatening nature has made it a favorite among fans of all ages.
Height: Variable
Weight: Variable
Eyes: One, Yellow
Hair: None
Abilities: The Purple People Eater possesses the ability to fly and is a talented musician, capable of playing rock and roll music. Its unique appearance and charm make it a crowd favorite.
Accessories: The Purple People Eater is often depicted with a saxophone, which it plays using its horn, adding to its musical prowess.
Notable Appearances:

• "Purple People Eater" (Song, 1958) by Sheb Wooley